Pitfalls of the DIY Divorce

DIY divorce is as risky as a DIY haircut.

DIY divorce is as risky as a DIY haircut.

A popular service offered by some Utah law firms is the Do-It-Yourself uncontested divorce. Law firms charge between $1,000 and $1,500 total for this service. While this option is a cost-effective approach, allowing you to conclude your marriage with minimal involvement from attorneys and court, the Do-It-Yourself nature of the service creates a lot of hassle and the potential for errors and delays. With a Do-It-Yourself divorce, you have to handle critical aspects of your divorce yourself such as making sure the necessary paperwork is drafted and filed correctly, arranging to have paperwork signed by your spouse, ensuring that critical tasks in the court's checklist are completed, and ensuring that the final paperwork is approved and signed by the judge. Errors in this process will result in your divorce paperwork being rejected and long delays. While you can cut your hair without the help of a professional, the results of a do-it-yourself haircut are not always good. The same applies to having an experienced attorney handle your divorce.

If you want to avoid the hassle and risk of a Do-It-Yourself divorce and still save money, call Fair Price Lawyers today at (801) 999-0104. We will handle all aspects of your uncontested divorce from start to finish for a $1,083 flat fee (we pay the $333 court filing fee).

Get started today! Use our 24/7 online tool to schedule a free 30-minute Zoom consultation with an experienced Utah divorce attorney.


What is an uncontested divorce?

An uncontested divorce is a type of divorce in which both spouses agree on all the terms of the divorce, including the division of assets and debts, child custody and support, and any other issues related to the dissolution of their marriage. In an uncontested divorce, both spouses sign an out-of court settlement agreement and the judge issues a divorce decree ordering the terms of their agreement. The judge signing the divorce decree completes the divorce. This means that there is no need for a trial or other expensive legal proceedings to resolve any disputes, and the divorce can be finalized quickly. If you want an easy divorce in Utah, an uncontested divorce is definitely the way to go.

How fast can I get divorced in Utah?

Clients often ask: How long does it take to get divorced in Utah? Well, there is a 30-day waiting period for getting divorced in Utah, which means that 30 days must pass after a divorce petition is filed before a judge can grant a divorce. However, we can use the Utah divorce rules to your advantage and request a waiver of that waiting period if you want.

What are the advantages of a quick, uncontested Utah divorce?

An uncontested Utah divorce has several advantages over a contested divorce, including:

  1. Cost: Uncontested divorces are less expensive than contested divorces.
  2. Time: Uncontested divorces can be finalized more quickly than contested divorces, as there are no court appearances or legal battles over assets, custody, or other issues.
  3. Less stress: Uncontested divorces are usually less stressful than contested divorces, as the couple is able to work together to come to an agreement on the terms of the divorce.
  4. Control: In an uncontested divorce, the couple retains more control over the terms of their divorce than in a contested divorce, where a judge ultimately decides the outcome.
  5. Privacy: Uncontested divorces are more private, as there is no need for public court hearings.
  6. Better for children: An uncontested divorce can be less disruptive to children than a contested divorce, as it reduces conflict and allows parents to maintain a more amicable relationship.

Overall, an uncontested divorce can be a good option for couples who already agree on terms and want a quick Utah divorce. It will be less expensive, less time-consuming, and less stressful than a contested divorce, and can allow both spouses to move on with their lives more quickly.

Reasons to Hire Fair Price Lawyers

There are several advantages to hiring Fair Price Lawyers versus our competitors for your uncontested divorce:

  1. Convenient Virtual Consult: We offer a convenient 30-minute Zoom consultation.
  2. Competitive Pricing: We offer an affordable $750 flat fee for quick Utah divorces
  3. Reliable: Unlike many of our competitors, which are just websites that use a computer to generate generic documents, Fair Price Lawyers is a Utah law firm. When you hire a lawyer versus a computer, you will have the confidence of knowing your divorce was handled correctly. You'll meet directly with a Utah divorce lawyer who can answer any questions you may have about Utah divorce law and provide legal advice. All the documents necessary to complete your uncontested divorce will be drafted by a lawyer and will be customized to meet the unique circumstances of your case.

At Fair Price Lawyers our goal is to make your divorce as fast and easy as possible. Call us today at (801) 999-0104 to schedule a 30-minute Zoom consultation with an experienced attorney who can get you a quick Utah divorce.

What is the process of getting a fast uncontested divorce?

Fair Price Lawyers will get you a divorce in 5-easy steps:

  1. Free Consult: You'll have a free 30-minute Zoom consult with a Utah divorce attorney.
  2. Questionnaire: You'll complete our easy and comprehensive questionnaire to provide our office all the information we need to complete your divorce.
  3. Settlement Agreement: We'll use the information you provide to draft a detailed and comprehensive divorce settlement agreement along with other necessary documents.
  4. Signatures: We'll have you and your spouse electronically sign the settlement agreement through email.
  5. Divorce Decree: We'll draft and submit the necessary final documents to the court, including a decree of divorce, which the judge will sign finalizing your quick Utah divorce.

Note: If minor children are involved, there are several additional steps, which we will help you complete.

Do I need to be in Utah to file for divorce?

No. If you or your spouse has lived in Utah for at least three months before filing for divorce, then you do not need to come to Utah, and we can complete an online Utah divorce for you. And yes, Utah online divorces are legitimate, as a client once asked.

How do I quickly file a Utah divorce?

A Utah divorce can be obtained quickly by filing a divorce petition and other necessary documents online. Fair Price Lawyers will handle the drafting and filing of your divorce petition and any other necessary documents.

Utah is a no-fault divorce state.

Clients often ask: What are the grounds for divorce in Utah? While there are many grounds for divorce in Utah, including adultery, impotency, desertion, neglect, drunkenness, mental or physical cruelty, and committing a felony. The most common ground for divorce is irreconcilable differences, which means the parties don't get along anymore and there is no chance for reconciliation. It is important to know that Utah is a no-fault divorce state, which means that a person does not need to prove their spouse did something wrong in order to obtain a divorce. Claiming irreconcilable differences will suffice.

Get started today! Use our 24/7 online tool to schedule a free 30-minute Zoom consultation with an experienced Utah divorce attorney.


What are the requirements for filing for a speedy uncontested divorce in Utah?

To file for an uncontested quick Utah divorce, either you or your spouse must have lived in the Utah county where you plan to file for at least three months before filing. If there is a minor child, the child typically must have lived in Utah for at least six months before filing. There are some exceptions, however.

How long does it take to get a quick Utah divorce?

An uncontested divorce in Utah can be completed in 30 days or even less time if a waiver of the 30-day waiting period is granted.

How much does a fast uncontested divorce in Utah cost?

Fair Price Lawyers charges a low flat fee of $1,083 to complete uncontested divorces. That is the total cost you pay because we also pay the district court filing fee.

Do I need a lawyer for a quick divorce in Utah?

Technically, no, but having a lawyer will ensure that your divorce is done correctly and in less time. While you can cut your hair without the help of a professional, the results of a do-it-yourself haircut are not always good. The same applies to having an experienced attorney handle your divorce.

What’s the uncontested divorce process?

The process starts with your attorney drafting and filing a petition for divorce. Next, your attorney will draft a settlement agreement and other necessary documents for the parties to sign. If there are children involved, both parents must attend two online divorce education courses and provide proof of their income for child support purposes. After a 30-day waiting period your attorney will submit a final decree of divorce and other documents to the judge to approve and sign. Once the judge signs the decree of divorce, your divorce is complete.

Do I have to appear in front of a judge?

No. Part of the appeal of an uncontested divorce is that you don't have to go to court. Everything will be handled online by your attorney.

Click this link for our Utah Family Law FAQs.

Click this link to learn more about Our Fair Prices.